Sunday, July 09, 2017

Bluffing for beginners

Apparently God doesn't approve of gluten-free bread for use in Catholic rituals. According to official Catholic instruction, bread used to celebrate the Eucharist can be "low gluten" but must contain enough protein in the wheat to make it without additives. One wonders how the bronze age goat herds who wrote the scripture upon which their religion is based, knew about Gluten and wheat proteins sufficiently to under-pin Catholic dogma, but apparently, they did! Or at least the current day (scientifically educated) Catholics are sufficiently good bluffers to make it seem as though their prescriptions regarding the gluten content of communion bread are sufficient and credible enough to please the creator of the universe, and importantly, are in some way any more credible than mere random cherry-picking or as I like to put it, "making shit up as you go". 

The rest of us non-Catholic primates can see right though this nonsense of course. We know that the only truly holy bread substitute is brioche, with apricot jam and unsalted butter, ideally served with a nice Chianti or failing that, Cotes du Rhone, at a push.


Anonymous said...

It is always so very surprising what God cares deeply and passionately about (as opposed to what He/She/it can't be arsed to care about).

- years of bloody civil war in Syria: "Oh well, humans, what can I do about it, you've all got free will, sorry, nothing I can do."
- gluten-free bread at communion: "Ooooooooohhhh nooooooooo!!!! How dare you etc."

Makes no sense at all.

Steve Borthwick said...

Anon, I do believe you've hit the nail on the head..

Everything that represents an easy to implement (over the credulous) control mechanism becomes "the will of God" and everything else in the world that's tragic or undesirable becomes "God works in mysterious ways"..